Thursday, 9 July 2015

The 3rd Woman Review


The 3rd Woman

The 3rd Woman by Jonathan Freedland



A chilling high-concept thriller from No. 1 bestselling author and award-winning journalist Jonathan Freedland. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris.

SHE CAN’T SAVE HER SISTER

Journalist Madison Webb is obsessed with exposing lies and corruption. But she never thought she would be investigating her own sister’s murder.

SHE CAN’T TRUST THE POLICE

Madison refuses to accept the official line that Abigail’s death was an isolated crime. She uncovers evidence that suggests that Abi was the third victim in a series of killings that’s been hushed up as part of a major conspiracy.

SHE CAN EXPOSE THE TRUTH

In a United States that has yielded to the People’s Republic of China, corruption is rife – the government dictates what the ‘truth’ is. With her life on the line, Madison must give up the story, or face the consequences…

Claire's Review 5 of 5 Stars


When I received this book from Harper Collins to review, I really didn't know what to expect. I had never read anything by the author under this name or even those under his pseudonym of Sam Bourne. I found the synopsis intriguing but political fiction has never been a favourite of mine so I wasn't sure how I would find it.

The 3rd Woman, sucked me in from the very first page, Maddy is such an amazing character, with such a strength and determination to find out exactly what happened to her sister Abigail, no matter the cost. I did find some of the political issues a little hard to follow at times, but the story of Maddy and her journey took priority in my head and was my main focus.

To be honest I couldn't put the book down! It held my attention from beginning to end and every time I had to put it down, it haunted my thoughts until I could pick it up again, as I wanted to know what was going to happen.

A very well written and researched thriller!



Dont forget to check out Claudia Winkleman talking to Jonathon Freedland about The 3rd Woman on BBC Radio 2! Start listening at 1:28 for the interview

No comments:

Post a Comment