Thursday, 26 May 2016

Review: Those Summer Nights by Mandy Baggot

Those Summer Nights
Sunshine, soft white sand and a sizzling hot millionaire – you don’t get trouble in paradise, right?
Imogen Charlton is sorted. Dead-beat husband? History. Dream job? Application sent. But then her impulsive brother, Harry, spends every last penny on a Greek restaurant in Corfu, and is determined to run it himself. It’s up to Imogen to bring him to his senses.
When sexy millionaire Panos Dimitriou offers to buy back his family taverna, Imogen wonders if all her prayers have been answered (and all her fantasies about to come true). But Harry won’t budge, and his enthusiasm is infectious.
Bright pink bougainvillea tumbling over whitewashed walls, endless blue skies, the sparkling Mediterranean; it’s hard not to fall for Corfu. And that’s not all Imogen is falling for…
As the sparks of passion fly between Imogen and Panos, is Imogen having second thoughts on selling the restaurant? And will she have to choose between love and a new dream?
This summer, spend long sunny days on the beach, and balmy nights in Greek tavernas on the gorgeous island of Corfu. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Miranda Dickinson and Lindsey Kelk.

Shona's review 4 of 5 stars

It's no secret that I'm a lover of Baggots books, she has a way of making the reader feel as though they are there with the main characters regardless of where they are. And this book is no exception. Its possible to imagine yourself in a Taverna in Achavari, or walking through the community market in Arillas. These are true 'get away' books... if only she could infuse a little piece of sun and warmth into the book you would truly feel like you are there.

I loved Imogen, despite having a somewhat life of her own to live, she put all that on hold whilst she tried to help her brother. Admittedly it was mostly about trying to rein him in in the beginning, but once she realised his plans she soon dug in to help him build his dream.
Panos.... was not for me. Very early in the book I realised I didn't like him and I had hoped that once he met Imogen he would be the leading man I wanted him to be. For me he fell short, but he did provide some very pleasing scenes.

This is definitely the kind of book you want to be picking up to get you in the mood before your holiday... but it's equally as enjoyable if you're staying home wrapped up in warm blankets.  


Available to preorder now, releasing 27th May

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for this lovely review!

    Mandy xx

    ReplyDelete