Monday, 7 August 2017

REVIEW: True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by Annie Darling

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop (Lonely Hearts Bookshop #2)
It's a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?
Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan
Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl, manager of London’s first romance-only bookshop Happy Ever, and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and quite happy hiding in the office and lying to her friends about her fictional boyfriend Peter, whose presence is very useful for getting her out of social events.
But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.
Because ‘Peter’ is actually Johnny, and he too could use a fictional girlfriend. So against her better judgment and because she can't stand sitting on the sad singles table, Verity and Johnny decide to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, culminating in her sister’s Big Fat Wedding.
And by the end of the summer, there’s a bad case of heartache that even Verity’s beloved Pride And Prejudice might not be able to cure…


Claire's Review 4 of 5 Stars

I was so excited when I found out that there would be a second book in the series for The Lonely Hearts Bookshop, as I adored the first book, and loved all of the characters. I jumped at a chance to read this book!

This installment sees Verity, who is feeling very pressured to have a boyfriend by her family and friends, so she makes up an imaginary boyfriend to keep them off her back and to stop pressuring her into dates. This, in turn, brings her to meet the handsome Johnny, who also would like to get his friends off his back for being single, and being in love with a woman he couldn't be with (which at many times made me want to jump into the book and knock his head against the wall for being such an idiot). Perfect time for them both to act as if they are together?

This book was a fab read but didn't quite hit the same notes for me as the first book. It felt a bit like a different story that was only slightly connected, as you didn't see as much as of the bookshop and the other characters as I would have hoped (especially Posy and Sebastian), but more time at weddings and parties. Saying that though I did really enjoy the story it just wasn't as much connected to the first book as I would have hoped. My only other complaint was the constant references to Pride and Prejudice, there was just way too many of them and I found it quite annoying at times.

Overall a fab read. I need to fit in some time now to re read both books back to back! Also keeping my fingers crossed for more books to the series.

No comments:

Post a Comment