Wednesday 14 January 2015

Review: Sweep; Volume 3 by Cate Tiernan

Sweep: Volume 3  (Sweep, #7-9)
Book 7 - The Calling
Book 8 - Changeling
Book 9 - Strife

Morgan Rowlands holds profound magickal power. . . a power that some will stop at nothing to obtain. Though she knows she has much still to learn, magick has brought her more than she could ever have imagined: the love of her soul mate. Yet her dreams uncover something else - a dark force threatening her entire world. As the darkness closes in, Morgan realizes that she must make a choice - light or dark; hatred or love. Is she strong enough to make the sacrifice and discover her true nature, or will the darkness consume all she holds dear?

Shona's review 5 of 5 stars

One of the things I love about this series of books is the coming home feeling I get when I slip between the pages. It doesn't matter how long it has been since I last picked up a book it still feels comfortable and inviting. 
We are far enough through the series that the main characters feel like friends and you have a  true sense of knowing them. And while it's nice that Tiernan adds in new characters to mix things up a little, she also takes the time to flesh out the existing characters too.  We get more of a look into Robbie and Bree, 2 characters who are apparently Morgan's best friends but who we've learned very little about, it was nice learning about Bree's insecurities because until now she's just come across as a bit of a bitch.
There is so much going on in this collection of books its rather hard to step away from it for any length of time. We meet several new people in this collection of books and we don't learn immediately how each person will affect Morgan, given her recent past I was constantly wary about every new person she met, I have read this series before but it was a few years ago so I was a little hazy on some of the details, so I'm not sure how many of my hunches were actual hunches or just memories. It didn't stop me from enjoying the books though.

This particular collection of books is a real character development journey for Morgan. If you were ever in doubt, this series of books is proof that Morgan is far from perfect. She is failing at school, failing in her relationships with her family, friends and boyfriend, has her faith in her powers shattered and dabbles with the darker side of Magick.  However much she doubts it though her moral compass points true and she works hard to make things right nin all aspects of her life.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to hear what you think about our posts. Don't be shy, say hi.