Thursday, 11 February 2016

Review: The 3rd Woman by Jonathon Freedland

The 3rd Woman
A chilling high-concept thriller from No. 1 bestselling author and award-winning journalist Jonathan Freedland. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris.
SHE CAN’T SAVE HER SISTER
Journalist Madison Webb is obsessed with exposing lies and corruption. But she never thought she would be investigating her own sister’s murder.
SHE CAN’T TRUST THE POLICE
Madison refuses to accept the official line that Abigail’s death was an isolated crime. She uncovers evidence that suggests that Abi was the third victim in a series of killings that’s been hushed up as part of a major conspiracy.
SHE CAN EXPOSE THE TRUTH
In a United States that has yielded to the People’s Republic of China, corruption is rife – the government dictates what the ‘truth’ is. With her life on the line, Madison must give up the story, or face the consequences…

Shona's review 5 of 5 stars 

This is one of those books that I wanted to devour but real life kept me away. Whilst that was frustrating, at the same time it allowed me to prolong the story, instead of devouring it in one sitting I was able to read it in small chunks and really think over what had happened.

This is the first time I have read anything by Freedland, but it most definitely wont be my last, I shall have to check out his current work written under his pseudonym Sam Bourne. The way he has written the story, allows us the reader to learn all the info at the same rate as Maddie, but it also allows us to get caught up in her paranoia and it has us also questioning everyone, how did they know that? did we tell them already? 

Freedland does a marvellous job of weaving the politics into the story without getting bogged down with it. What we end up with is a chilling tale filled with plot twists that you wont see coming.

Available to buy in paperback today

No comments:

Post a Comment