Thursday, 25 August 2016

Review: The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts by Annie Darling

The Little Bookshop of Lonely HeartsThe Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts by Annie Darling

Where happy ever after is only a page away…
A delightful new series set in a quaint old bookshop, for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan
Once upon a time in a crumbling London bookshop, Posy Morland spent her life lost in the pages of her favourite romantic novels.
So when Bookend’s eccentric owner, Lavinia, dies and leaves the shop to Posy, she must put down her books and join the real world. Because Posy hasn’t just inherited an ailing business, but also the unwelcome attentions of Lavinia’s grandson, Sebastian, AKA The Rudest Man In London™.
Posy has a cunning plan and six months to transform Bookends into the bookshop of her dreams – if only Sebastian would leave her alone to get on with it. As Posy and her friends fight to save their beloved bookshop, Posy’s drawn into a battle of wills with Sebastian, about whom she’s started to have some rather feverish fantasies…
Like her favourite romantic heroines, will she get her happy ever after too?


Claire's review 5 of 5 Stars


This book was one of those books that is easy to read yet so satisfying! The story is about Posy, who inherits ownership of 'Bookends' bookshop. A failing business that she worked at and lived above with her little brother Sam.

The storyline was quite predictable from the outset but that didn't stop my enjoyment of it! I loved the banter back and force between Posy and Sebastian, as well as all the other quirky characters such as Nina and Verity.

Bookends is the kind of place that I would love to work! A small business, where you can make close friends in work colleagues, while doing a job you feel passionate about! I'm currently a stay at home mum but once my babies are all at school it would be a dream of mine to work in a bookshop!

I absolutely adored this story and I cannot wait to see what comes next from Annie Darling!




No comments:

Post a Comment