Monday, 5 September 2016

Review: The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts by Annie Darling

The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts: A hilariously funny feel-good love story
Where happy ever after is only a page away…
A delightful new series set in a quaint old bookshop, for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan
Once upon a time in a crumbling London bookshop, Posy Morland spent her life lost in the pages of her favourite romantic novels.
So when Bookend’s eccentric owner, Lavinia, dies and leaves the shop to Posy, she must put down her books and join the real world. Because Posy hasn’t just inherited an ailing business, but also the unwelcome attentions of Lavinia’s grandson, Sebastian, AKA The Rudest Man In London™.
Posy has a cunning plan and six months to transform Bookends into the bookshop of her dreams – if only Sebastian would leave her alone to get on with it. As Posy and her friends fight to save their beloved bookshop, Posy’s drawn into a battle of wills with Sebastian, about whom she’s started to have some rather feverish fantasies…
Like her favourite romantic heroines, will she get her happy ever after too?

Shona's review 4 of 5 stars

I have to be honest, in the beginning I wasn't sure if I liked either Posy or Sebastian, she definitely didn't sound like the kind of person who should be left in charge of a bookshop never mind be bequeathed one and then be expected to make it flourish. And right from the very beginning I got the impression that Sebastian is supposed to be her love interest, but he was so rude that I honestly didn't think I could read this book if he was her love interest. Thankfully, as the story progressed we see a slightly softer side to Sebastian, he offers to help Posy and to begin with we don't understand the reasoning behind it but it all becomes clear.

Annie Darling has a very descriptive style of writing, it was enjoyable, but not so descriptive that I lost track of what was happening. Which made it very easy to read. On the surface this book is a light hearted read, but once you step inside you realise that at its heart is a whole heap of loss. Posy is still, 7 years later, coming to terms with the death of her parents, and now the death of the woman she fondly thought of as an honorary Grandmother. But for each and every sad moment within this story, there were happy moments. Happy moments that made you smile without thinking about it. And you cant really ask for more than that.

The back of this books states "The first in the Lonely Hearts Bookshop series, where happy ever after is only a page away.." I look forward to reading more in this series.


No comments:

Post a Comment