Wednesday, 26 October 2016

Review: Sequins and Snowflakes by Jane Linfoot

Sequins and Snowflakes (Christmas at the Little Wedding Shop by the Sea, Book 2)
The snow is falling around Brides by the Sea, Cornwall’s cutest little wedding shop, and wedding dress designer Seraphina East is in her cosy studio designing exquisite dresses to make even the most demanding bride’s dreams come true.

Unless the bride is her big sister Alice of course. Saying that the two sisters don’t always see eye to eye is an understatement. Alice hasn’t even asked Sera to design her wedding dress. But when an absent groom and ill-fitting dress threaten to ruin Alice’s happiness let alone her big day, Sera’s determined to give her sister the winter wedding of her dreams – even if that means keeping not one but two irresistibly gorgeous best men under control…

Is Sera going to end up being the maid of dishonour…Or will repairing her frozen relationship with Alice be the icing on the wedding cake?
There’s sequins, snowflakes, and plenty of romance in this gorgeous love story. The perfect romance to curl up by the fire with this Christmas! Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Milly Johnson.

Shona's review 5 of 5 stars

Once again we are back at the Little Wedding shop by the sea, just days away from the wedding that has taken three years to plan and despite the wedding manual that has everything meticulously planned out,  everything is falling apart. Anything that can go wrong does go wrong... And poor Sera is the one left to pick up the pieces and figure everything out, and it isn't even her wedding. 

We met Sera in Cupcakes and Confetti (the first Little Wedding Shop by the Sea book), albeit in the background, making wedding dresses and munching Poppy's cakes. In Sequins and Snowflakes she is very much the main character and I love her. She is very much the type of person who doesn't like to be in the spotlight, she likes to wear clothes that make her feel comfortable and she isn't very good with taking charge. But she ditches her shorts and beachy-waves hair and steps up to the challenge to ensure her sister has the wedding she has dreamed of.

This isn't just a tale of wedding dresses and irresistible groomsmen (though there are a few), at the heart of it is a tale friendships and sisterly love. And it makes me remember the run up to my own wedding quite fondly and wish we could do it all over again

No comments:

Post a Comment